EL DORADO LAFCO

LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION

MINUTES OF DECEMBER 7, 2016

STATE OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF EL DORADO

1. CALL TO ORDER AND PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The meeting of the Local Agency Formation Commission held December 7, 2016 was called to order at 5:30 p.m. by Chair Humphreys in the Planning Commission Hearing Room of the Government Center, 2850 Fairlane Court, Placerville, California. Regular Members present were: City Members Mark Acuna and Austin Sass, County Members Shiva Frentzen and Brian Veerkamp, District Member Ken Humphreys, and Public Member Dyana Anderly. Others present were: Alternate District Member Holly Morrison, Alternate Public Member Michael Powell, Executive Officer José C. Henríquez, Policy Analyst Erica Sanchez, and LAFCO Counsel Kara K. Ueda.

2. ROLL CALL

VOTING MEMBERS:

Mark Acuna, Dyana Anderly, Shiva Frentzen, Ken Humphreys, Holly Morrison, Austin Sass, Brian Veerkamp

Commissioner Morrison arrived at the dais at 5:32 pm.

3. ADOPTION OF AGENDA

Chair Humphreys opened the public forum. No member of the public addressed the Commission.

MOTION

Commissioner Frentzen moved to adopt the Agenda, second by Commissioner Morrison.

ACTION

The motion was approved by the following vote:

AYES: Mark Acuna, Dyana Anderly, Shiva Frentzen, Holly Morrison, Austin Sass, Brian Veerkamp, Ken Humphreys

NOES: None

ABSTAIN: None ABSENT: None

4. CONSENT CALENDAR

Chair Humphreys opened the public forum. No member of the public addressed the Commission.

- A. MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF SEPTEMBER 28, 2016
- B. REVIEW OF CLAIMS
- C. APPROVE 2017 MEETING CALENDAR
- D. OPEN THE PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD FOR THE DRAFT MUNICIPAL SERVICE REVIEW AND SPHERE OF INFLUENCE STUDY FOR THE NASHVILLE TRAIL COMMUNITY SERVICES DISTRICT (LAFCO PROJECT NO. 2015-07)



MOTION

Commissioner Acuna moved to adopt the consent calendar, second by Commissioner Veerkamp.

ACTION

The motion was approved by the following vote:

AYES: Mark Acuna, Dyana Anderly, Shiva Frentzen, Holly Morrison, Austin Sass, Brian Veerkamp, Ken Humphreys

NOES: None

ABSTAIN: None ABSENT: None

5. PUBLIC FORUM/PUBLIC COMMENT

Chair Humphreys opened the public forum. No member of the public addressed the Commission.

6. PUBLIC HEARING TO CONSIDER AMENDING THE 2016-2017 BUDGET

Mr. Henriquez reviewed the staff report with the recommendation that the Commission adopt the amended budget for Fiscal Year 2016-2017 and Resolution L-2016-06.

Chair Humphreys opened the public forum. No member of the public addressed the Commission.

MOTION

Commissioner Veerkamp moved to amend the Fiscal Year 2016-2017 Budget and adopt Resolution L-2016-06, second by Commissioner Sass.

ACTION

The motion was approved by the following vote:

AYES: Mark Acuna, Dyana Anderly, Shiva Frentzen, Holly Morrison, Austin Sass, Brian Veerkamp, Ken Humphreys NOES: None

ABSTAIN: None ABSENT: None

7. APPROVE POLICIES REGARDING CARRYOVER/FUND BALANCE AMOUNTS

Mr. Henriquez reviewed the staff report with the recommendation that the Commission approve the proposed policies regarding the manner in which the fund balance is used in the budget. Specifically, the new process calls for utilizing carryover funds in the budget a year after calculation/collection.

Chair Humphreys opened the public forum. No member of the public addressed the Commission.

MOTION

Commissioner Veerkamp moved to approve the policy changes regarding the use of the fund balance in the budget, second by Commissioner Acuna.

ACTION

The motion was approved by the following vote:

AYES: Mark Acuna, Dyana Anderly, Shiva Frentzen, Holly Morrison, Austin Sass, Brian Veerkamp, Ken Humphreys

NOES: None

ABSTAIN: None ABSENT: None



8. <u>REVIEW AND CONSIDER THE FORMAT FOR MUNICIPAL SERVICE</u> <u>REVIEW/SPHERE OF INFLUENCE STUDIES</u>

Mrs. Sanchez reviewed the staff report with the recommendation that the Commission discuss and consider proposed changes to the LAFCO Municipal Service Review/Sphere of Influence (MSR/SOI) Study format.

Chair Humphreys opened the public forum. No member of the public addressed the Commission.

MOTION

Commissioner Frentzen moved to approve staff recommended changes, second by Commissioner Veerkamp.

ACTION

The motion was approved by the following vote:

AYES: Mark Acuna, Dyana Anderly, Shiva Frentzen, Holly Morrison, Austin Sass, Brian Veerkamp, Ken Humphreys

NOES: None ABSTAIN: None ABSENT: None

9. OTHER BUSINESS

A. LEGISLATION

Mr. Henriquez stated that the new legislators have been sworn in and that CALAFCO is trying out a new initiative, encouraging LAFCOs to approach the legislators and have a dialogue with them. The goal is to establish ties with LAFCOs so that legislators know who to call if they have questions about LAFCO. He asked if any of the commissioners wanted to attend these meetings; Commissioners Frentzen and Veerkamp stated they were interested.

- **B. COMMISSIONER ANNOUNCEMENTS**
- C. COUNSEL REPORT
- D. EXECUTIVE OFFICER REPORT

10. ADJOURNMENT TO CLOSED SESSION

Public Employee Performance Evaluation: Position Title: Executive Officer

11. REPORT OUT OF CLOSED SESSION

Chair Humphreys reconvened the meeting to Open Session and stated that there was nothing to report out of Closed Session.

12. CONSIDER AMENDMENT TO THE EXECUTIVE OFFICER'S CONTRACT

Mr. Henriquez recommended that the Commission consider the results of the Executive Officer's performance evaluation in Agenda Item #10 and take the appropriate action regarding the proposed contract amendment.

Chair Humphreys opened the public forum. No member of the public addressed the Commission.



MOTION

Commissioner Frentzen moved to extend the Executive Officer's contract for two years, second by Commissioner Anderly.

ACTION

The motion was approved by the following vote:

 AYES:
 Mark Acuna, Dyana Anderly, Shiva Frentzen, Holly Morrison, Austin Sass, Brian Veerkamp, Ken Humphreys

 NOES:
 None

 ABSTAIN:
 None

 ABSENT:
 None

13. ADJOURNMENT

Chair Humphreys adjourned the meeting at 6:50 pm.

The next regularly scheduled LAFCO meeting will be January 25, 2017.

APPROVED BY THE COMMISSION AUTHENTICATED AND CERTIFIED

Interim Clerk to the Commission

Chairperson