EL DORADO LAFCO



LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION

CORRECTED MINUTES OF JANUARY 28, 2015

STATE OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF EL DORADO

1. CALL TO ORDER AND PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The meeting of the Local Agency Formation Commission held January 28, 2015 was called to order at 5:30 p.m. by Chair Humphreys in the Board of Supervisors Chambers, Building A of the Government Center, 330 Fair Lane, Placerville, California. Regular Members present were: County Members Shiva Frentzen and Brian Veerkamp, District Members Ken Humphreys, and Public Member Dyana Anderly. Others present were: Alternate City Member John Clerici, Executive Officer José C. Henríquez, Policy Analyst Erica Sanchez, and LAFCO Counsel Kara K. Ueda.

2. ROLL CALL

VOTING MEMBERS:

Anderly, Clerici, Frentzen, Humphreys, Veerkamp

3. ADOPTION OF AGENDA

MOTION

Commissioner Veerkamp moved to adopt the Agenda, second by Commissioner Frentzen.

ACTION

The motion was approved by the following vote:

AYES: Anderly, Clerici, Frentzen, Veerkamp, Humphreys NOES: None ABSTAIN: None ABSENT: Day, Sass

4. CONSENT CALENDAR

- A. MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF OCTOBER 22, 2014
- B. REVIEW OF CLAIMS
- C. APPROVE NOMINATION OF COMMISSIONER FRENTZEN TO CALAFCO BOARD OF DIRECTORS
- D. RATIFY RESOLUTION L-2015-01; RESOLUTION OF APPRECIATION FOR RON BRIGGS
- E. RATIFY RESOLUTION L-2015-02; RESOLUTION OF APPRECIATION FOR BROOKE LAINE
- F. AMEND POLICIES AND GUIDELINES SECTION 3.1.4 REGARDING INFORMATION TO BE PROVIDED BY APPLICANTS
- G. APPROVAL OF A ONE-YEAR TIME EXTENSION FOR THE FINAL APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR THE DEUBEL ANNEXATION TO CAMERON ESTATES COMMUNITY SERVICES DISTRICT; LAFCO PROJECT NO. 2012-03



MOTION

Commissioner Veerkamp moved to adopt the consent calendar, second by Commissioner Frentzen.

ACTION

The motion was approved by the following vote:

AYES: Anderly, Clerici, Frentzen, Veerkamp, Humphreys NOES: None ABSTAIN: None ABSENT: Day, Sass

5. PUBLIC FORUM/PUBLIC COMMENT

Chair Humphreys opened the public forum. No member of the public addressed the Commission.

6. ADMINISTER OATH OF OFFICE

Chair Humphreys administered the Oath of Office to Commissioners Clerici, Frentzen, and Veerkamp.

7. ELECTION OF LAFCO OFFICERS FOR 2015

Chair Humphreys opened the public forum. No member of the public addressed the Commission.

MOTION

Commissioner Veerkamp moved to nominate the current Chair, Ken Humphreys, and Shiva Frentzen as Vice-Chair; as well as Brian Veerkamp to continue as local signatory, second by Commissioner Anderly.

ACTION

The motion was approved by the following vote:

AYES: Anderly, Clerici, Frentzen, Veerkamp, Humphreys NOES: None ABSTAIN: None ABSENT: Day, Sass

8. <u>LAFCO 101 – PUBLIC WORKSHOP ON LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION</u> COMMISSIONS, AUTHORITY AND POWERS

Mr. Henríquez gave a presentation titled "LAFCO 101" providing a background on LAFCO's authority, powers and responsibilities.

9. <u>SELECTION OF THE BUDGET AD HOC COMMITTEE AND PROVIDE</u> DIRECTION ON VARIOUS BUDGETARY MATTERS

Mr. Henriquez reviewed the staff report with the recommendation that the Commission select the membership of an ad hoc committee who will assist staff with the creation of the Fiscal Year 2015-16 budget.

The Commission selected Commissioners Clerici and Frentzen, as well as Chair Humphreys to the Budget Ad Hoc Committee.



10. OTHER BUSINESS

- A. LEGISLATION
- **B. COMMISSIONER ANNOUNCEMENTS**
- C. COUNSEL REPORT
- D. EXECUTIVE OFFICER REPORT

11. CLOSED SESSION

Conference with labor negotiators pursuant to Government Code Section 54957.6,

Agency Negotiator: Commission Counsel Position Title: Executive Officer

12. RECONVENE TO OPEN SESSION AND CLOSED SESSION REPORT

Chair Humphreys indicated there was nothing to report out of closed session. Chair Humphreys reconvened the meeting to Open Session.

13. ADJOURNMENT

Chair Humphreys adjourned the meeting at 7:55 pm.

The next regularly scheduled LAFCO meeting will be February 25, 2015.

APPROVED BY THE COMMISSION AUTHENTICATED AND CERTIFIED

Clerk to the Commission

Ren Humphrey Chairperson