EL DORADO LAFCO

LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION

MINUTES OF JANUARY 25, 2017

STATE OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF EL DORADO

1. CALL TO ORDER AND PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The meeting of the Local Agency Formation Commission held January 25, 2017 was called to order at 5:30 p.m. by Chair Humphreys in the Planning Commission Hearing Room of the Government Center, 2850 Fairlane Court, Placerville, California and at a teleconference location in the South Lake Tahoe City Council Chambers, 1901 Airport Road, South Lake Tahoe, California. Regular Members present were: City Members Mark Acuna and Brooke Laine, County Members Shiva Frentzen and Brian Veerkamp, District Members Dale Coco and Ken Humphreys, and Public Member Dyana Anderly. Others present were: Alternate District Member Holly Morrison, Alternate Public Member Michael Powell, Executive Officer José C. Henríquez, Policy Analyst Erica Sanchez, and LAFCO Counsel Kara K. Ueda.

Prior to roll call, pursuant to California Government Code Section 54953, Chair Humphreys made clear for the record of the meeting that one member of the Commission would be participating in the meeting by speaker phone. In accordance with the Brown Act, the teleconference location had been identified in the public notice and agenda for the meeting.

Chair Humphreys briefly went through some special procedures required by the Brown Act. Commissioner Sass made the following statements:

- (1) Commissioner Laine confirmed she could hear Chair Humphreys.
- (2) Commissioner Laine confirmed she could hear the proceedings occurring on the Placerville site.
- (3) Commissioner Laine confirmed she had a copy of the agenda.
- (4) Commissioner Laine confirmed the LAFCO agenda was posted at her location.
- (5) Commissioner Laine confirmed that her location was reasonably accessible to the public, such that any member of the public could participate in the teleconference from her location if he or she wished to do so.
- (6) Commissioner Laine indicated that there were no members of the public who wanted to participate in the public comment portion of the meeting, or otherwise address any agenda item for the meeting.

After confirming with the members in the Placerville location, Chair Humphreys stated that the record should reflect that all Commissioners present had indicated that they were able to hear Commissioner Laine clearly.

After confirming with the members present at the Placerville location, Chair Humphreys stated that the record should reflect that no Commissioner had expressed doubt that Commissioner Laine was the party participating by teleconference.

2. ROLL CALL

VOTING MEMBERS:

Acuna, Anderly, Coco, Frentzen, Humphreys, Laine, Veerkamp



3. ADOPTION OF AGENDA

MOTION

Commissioner Veerkamp moved to adopt the Agenda, second by Commissioner Acuna.

ACTION

The motion was approved by the following vote:

AYES: Acuna, Anderly, Coco, Frentzen, Laine, Veerkamp, Humphreys NOES: None ABSTAIN: None ABSENT: None

4. CONSENT CALENDAR

- A. MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF DECEMBER 7, 2016
- B. REVIEW OF CLAIMS
- C. OPEN THE PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD FOR THE DRAFT MUNICIPAL SERVICE REVIEW AND SPHERE OF INFLUENCE STUDY FOR THE COSUMNES RIVER COMMUNITY SERVICES DISTRICT (LAFCO PROJECT NO. 2015-05)

MOTION

Commissioner Acuna moved to adopt the consent calendar, second by Commissioner Veerkamp.

ACTION

The motion was approved by the following vote:

AYES: Acuna, Anderly, Coco, Frentzen, Laine, Veerkamp, Humphreys NOES: None ABSTAIN: None ABSENT: None

5. PUBLIC FORUM/PUBLIC COMMENT

Chair Humphreys opened the public forum. No member of the public addressed the Commission.

6. ADMINISTER OATH OF OFFICE

This item was continued until the February meeting, if necessary.

7. ELECTION OF LAFCO OFFICERS FOR 2017

Mr. Henríquez reviewed the staff report with the recommendation that the Commission determine who will serve as Commission Chair, Vice Chair and account signator for calendar year 2017.

Chair Humphreys opened the public forum. No member of the public addressed the Commission.

1st MOTION

Commissioner Anderly moved to nominate the current Vice-Chair, Shiva Frentzen, as Chair, second by Commissioner Veerkamp.

1st ACTION

The motion was approved by the following vote: AYES: Acuna, Anderly, Coco, Frentzen, Laine, Veerkamp, Humphreys NOES: None ABSTAIN: None ABSENT: None



2nd MOTION

Commissioner Coco moved to nominate Brian Veerkamp as Vice-Chair, second by Commissioner Anderly.

2nd ACTION

The motion was approved by the following vote:

AYES: Acuna, Anderly, Coco, Frentzen, Laine, Veerkamp, Humphreys NOES: None ABSTAIN: None ABSENT: None

3rd MOTION

Commissioner Veerkamp moved to nominate Mark Acuna as signator, second by Commissioner Frentzen.

3rd ACTION

The motion was approved by the following vote:

AYES: Acuna, Anderly, Coco, Frentzen, Laine, Veerkamp, Humphreys NOES: None ABSTAIN: None ABSENT: None

8. <u>PUBLIC HEARING TO CONSIDER AND ADOPT THE ENVIRONMENTAL</u> <u>REVIEW AND THE NASHVILLE TRAIL COMMUNITY SERVICES DISTRICT</u> <u>MUNICIPAL SERVICE REVIEW AND SPHERE OF INFLUENCE STUDY (LAFCO</u> <u>PROJECT NO, 2015-07)</u>

Mrs. Sanchez reviewed the staff report with the recommendation that the Commission:

- 1. Receive and discuss the information related to the municipal services review and sphere of influence update for the Nashville Trail Community Services District;
- 2. Open the public hearing on the matter;
- 3. Accept statutory exemption §15061(b)(3) from environmental review as the appropriate environmental review;
- 4. Adopt Resolution L-2017-01, adopting the municipal service review and sphere of influence update for the Nashville Trail Community Services District; and
- 5. Direct staff to complete the necessary filings and transmittals as required by law.

Chair Frentzen opened the public forum. No member of the public addressed the Commission.

MOTION

Commissioner Humphreys moved to adopt the Nashville Trail CSD MSR-SOI and Resolution L-2017-01, second by Commissioner Veerkamp.

ACTION

The motion was approved by the following vote:

AYES: Acuna, Anderly, Coco, Humphreys, Laine, Veerkamp, Frentzen NOES: None ABSTAIN: None ABSENT: None



9. CREATION OF A BUDGET AD HOC COMMITTEE

Mr. Henriquez suggested that the Commission select the membership of an ad hoc committee who will assist staff with the creation of the Fiscal Year 2017-18 budget.

Chair Frentzen opened the public forum. No member of the public addressed the Commission.

MOTION

Commissioner Veerkamp moved that Commissioners Clerici, Frentzen, and Humphreys sit on the committee, second by Commissioner Acuna.

ACTION

The motion was approved by the following vote:

AYES: Acuna, Anderly, Coco, Humphreys, Laine, Veerkamp, Frentzen NOES: None ABSTAIN: None ABSENT: None

10. OTHER BUSINESS

- A. LEGISLATION
- **B. COMMISSIONER ANNOUNCEMENTS**
- C. COUNSEL REPORT
- D. EXECUTIVE OFFICER REPORT

Commissioners Acuna and Coco left the dais at 6:17 pm.

11. PRESENTATION BY LAFCO COUNSEL ON AB1234 - ETHICS TRAINING

Counsel Ueda taught, led, and facilitated the mandatory AB 1234 Ethics Training as required by law.

12. ADJOURNMENT

Chair Frentzen adjourned the meeting at 8:17 pm.

The next regularly scheduled LAFCO meeting will be February 22, 2017.

APPROVED BY THE COMMISSION AUTHENTICATED AND CERTIFIED

Interim Clerk to the Commission

Chairperson