EL DORADO LAFCO

MINUTES OF JUNE 26, 2013

STATE OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF EL DORADO

1. CALL TO ORDER AND PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The meeting of the Local Agency Formation Commission held June 26, 2013 was called to order at 5:30 p.m. by Chair Mette in the Board of Supervisors Chambers, Building A of the Government Center, 330 Fair Lane, Placerville, California. Regular Members present were: City Members Brooke Laine and Carol A. Patton, District Member Ken Humphreys, County Members Ron Briggs and Ron "Mik" Mikulaco, and Public Member Don Mette. Others present were: Alternate District Member Alan Day, Alternate Public Member Niles Fleege, Executive Officer José C. Henríquez, Policy Analyst Erica Sanchez, and LAFCO Counsel Andrew Morris.

2. ROLL CALL

VOTING MEMBERS:

Briggs, Day, Humphreys, Laine, Mette, Mikulaco, Patton

3. ADOPTION OF AGENDA

MOTION

Commissioner Briggs moved to adopt the Agenda, second by Commissioner Humphreys.

ACTION

The motion was approved by the following vote:

AYES: Briggs, Humphreys, Laine, Mikulaco, Patton, Mette NOES: None ABSTAIN: None

ABSENT: Frentzen

4. CONSENT CALENDAR

- A. MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF MAY 22, 2013
- B. REVIEW OF CLAIMS
- C. OPEN THE PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD FOR THE DRAFT FALLEN LEAF LAKE COMMUNITY SERVICES DISTRICT MUNICIPAL SERVICE REVIEW AND SPHERE OF INFLUENCE STUDY (LAFCO PROJECT NO. 2011-05)

MOTION

Commissioner Humphreys moved to adopt the consent calendar, second by Commissioner Briggs.

ACTION

The motion was approved by the following vote:

AYES: Briggs, Humphreys, Laine, Mikulaco, Patton, Mette NOES: None ABSTAIN: None ABSENT: Frentzen



5. PUBLIC FORUM/PUBLIC COMMENT

Chair Mette opened the public forum. No member of the public addressed the Commission.

6. OATH OF OFFICE

Chair Mette administered the Oath of Office to Commissioners Day and Laine.

7. <u>CONSIDER AND APPROVE INDEMNITY AGREEMENT WITH THE COUNTY OF</u> <u>EL DORADO</u>

Mr. Morris reviewed the new Indemnity Agreement from the County of El Dorado with the Commission. He recommended approving said agreement.

Chair Mette opened the public forum. No member of the public addressed the Commission.

MOTION

Commissioner Mikulaco moved to approve the new Indemnity Agreement and Resolution L-2013-06, second by Commissioner Humphreys.

ACTION

The motion was approved by the following vote:

AYES: Briggs, Humphreys, Laine, Mikulaco, Patton, Mette NOES: None ABSTAIN: None ABSENT: Frentzen

Commissioner Day arrived at the dais at 5:43 pm.

8. <u>PROVIDE DIRECTION TO STAFF ON THE GRASSY RUN CSD DISSOLUTION</u> <u>REIMBURSEMENT</u>

Mr. Henriquez reviewed the staff memo with the recommendation that the Commission provide direction on whether staff should continue to pursue seeking the reimbursement for the Grassy Run CSD underbill. Commissioner Briggs indicated he has started to research the reimbursement issue and requested that the Commission continue the matter until he can report back at the next meeting.

9. <u>CONSIDER NOMINATIONS FOR THE CALAFCO GOVERNING BOARD AND</u> FOR THE CALAFCO ACHIEVEMENT AWARDS

Mrs. Sanchez reviewed the staff report with the recommendation that the Commission receive the update related to the CALAFCO Achievement Awards and openings on the CALAFCO Board of Directors. She indicated staff was already working on the Shingle Springs Rancheria proposal as their nomination for "Project of the Year" from last month.

Chair Mette opened the public forum. No member of the public addressed the Commission.

1st MOTION

Commissioner Briggs moved to nominate Commissioner Fleege for the Public Member for the Central Region on the CALAFCO Board, second by Commissioner Patton.

1st ACTION

The motion was unanimously approved by the Commission.



2nd MOTION

Commissioner Patton moved to nominate José Henríquez for Outstanding LAFCO Professional for his work on the Shingle Springs Rancheria Reorganization, second by Commissioner Briggs.

2nd ACTION

The motion was unanimously approved by the Commission.

10. DESIGNATION OF VOTING DELEGATES TO THE CALAFCO CONFERENCE

Mr. Henriquez reviewed the staff report with the recommendation that the Commission designate the Chair as voting member and the Vice Chair as his alternate during the CALAFCO Conference at the Resort at Squaw Creek on August 28-30, 2013.

MOTION

Commissioner Briggs moved to delegate Chair Mette as the primary delegate and Vice-chair Humphreys as the alternate delegate, second by Commissioner Mikulaco.

ACTION

The motion was unanimously approved by the Commission.

11. <u>DISCUSSION REGARDING RESCHEDULING OR CANCELLING THE JULY</u> AND AUGUST 2013 MEETINGS

Mr. Henriquez reviewed the staff report with the recommendation that the Commission provide direction to staff on its preference on what to do for the July and August meetings.

The Commission directed staff to cancel the July and August meetings.

12. <u>CONSIDER PARTICIPATING IN THE SDRMA BOARD OF DIRECTORS</u> <u>ELECTION</u>

Mr. Henriquez reviewed the staff report with the recommendation that the Commission consider participating in the election of new members to the Special District Risk Management Agency Board of Directors.

MOTION

Commissioner Mikulaco moved to elect Muril Clift, John Woolley, and Dennis Mayo for the SDRMA Board of Directors, second by Commissioner Laine.

ACTION

The motion was approved by the following vote:

AYES: Briggs, Humphreys, Laine, Mikulaco, Patton, Mette NOES: None ABSTAIN: Day ABSENT: None

13. OTHER BUSINESS

A. LEGISLATION

The Commission voted to send two letters of support; one for AB743 and one for AB1427.



1st MOTION

Commissioner Patton moved to send a letter in support of AB743, second by Commissioner Mikulaco.

1st ACTION

The motion was unanimously approved by the Commission.

2nd MOTION

Commissioner Briggs moved to send a letter of support to the Governor on AB1427, second by Commissioner Day.

2nd ACTION

The motion was unanimously approved by the Commission.

- B. COMMISSIONER ANNOUNCEMENTS
- C. COUNSEL REPORT
- D. EXECUTIVE OFFICER REPORT

14. ADJOURNMENT

Chair Mette adjourned the meeting at 6:47 pm.

The next regularly scheduled LAFCO meeting will be September 25, 2013.

APPROVED BY THE COMMISSION AUTHENTICATED AND CERTIFIED

Interim Clerk to the Commission

Chairperson